Skip to content

Pick up the Shield of Faith

March 20, 2015

This post was originally posted on ConvergeChurch.ca and has been archived here.


“In all circumstances take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming darts of the evil one;” ~ Ephesians 6:16

I was very encouraged this week by the prayers of my brothers in the C2C Network. One of the encouragements was from Ephesians 6:16 – not merely that I would take up the shield of faith, but that I wouldn’t (on the flip side) be identified by the flaming darts (which can be my tendency sometimes).

Sometimes when we get discouraged or hurt, or something happens that really feels like a uppercut to our solar plexus, we can wear those things like badges and really own the pain that we’ve experienced. Granted, time must be allowed for grieving the pains, mourning the losses, and experience the hurt to truly get through it all, but when we wallow in it and soak in it rolling around in it as if it were a complete roadblock to everything else in life God has called us to, it is not good.

Jesus knows our deepest pains and sorrows and the gospel says that his death on the cross took our pain, guilt, shame, shortcomings and failures and gives us his new life of the resurrection.

Because Jesus is alive, I can pick up the shield of faith no matter what circumstance I face, no matter how difficult and painful it might be. But rather than carrying the hurt for the rest of my life and letting it get me down, I can trust in Jesus and believe afresh that his work for me on the cross draws me into his perfect rest.

Now, my picking up the shield of faith to extinguish the flaming  darts become an act of worship and an act of faith believing that he will give me strength and he will take my pain and give me the grace by the power of his Holy Spirit to accomplish that which he calls me to do.

Life is an obstacle course. Our various struggles aren’t roadblocks to accomplishing that which God has called us to do, they are merely obstacles. Time to get up on over them.

——-
As we look toward Easter coming up on Sunday, April 5th, consider inviting a friend or two to join us at our gathering and invite them over for lunch afterwards…that’s what we’ll be doing.

Pastor Mark Myles

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

