Skip to content

Jesus is Alive and is Building His Church

March 15, 2015

This post was originally posted on ConvergeChurch.ca and has been archived here.


“I find there are three stages in every great work of God: first it’s impossible, then its difficult, then it’s done.” – Hudson Taylor

I’d be lying if I said planting a church is all fun. Its not. The harsh reality is that sometimes it kicks me in the gut and says “Give up yet?” By God’s grace alone, those have been the times when I know with even more clarity that God has called me (and many of you reading this) to it.

Hey Converge family, the dream of seeing “Gospel saturation in the everyday life of every life in Campbell River and beyond” may seem ridiculously impossible and the path God has been taking us on to get there has, so far, been difficult, but the great truth about all of it is that it to depends not on our abilities or strength, but on Jesus and he WILL accomplish it.

No matter what happens in our lives that may seem to work against us and against God’s purposes, we believe that God is good and that Jesus is still alive, and he is still building his church.

Benny noted in last week’s newsletter that, “this year has been jam packed with spiritual growth and exciting change,”—he couldn’t have been more right. As Converge embarks on a new chapter of life, join me in clinging to and owning these words of the Apostle Paul as our own from Acts 20:24 (which was in last week reading). “But I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself, if only I may finish my course and the ministry that I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God.”

Things sometimes have to get tough before they get better, but all the way along,“…we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.” (Romans 8:28)
Family, I am spurred on by the strength, the encouragement and the dedication of so many of you. You have been an amazing blessing to Keely and I over the past few weeks. I have been so blessed to see your devotion to Jesus and his word, your reckless faith and trust in God’s promises. Keep it up. It is obvious that Jesus is alive and he is building his church because I can see it in the work that he is doing in and through you.

The challenges we are facing right now are not uncommon to the history of the church through the ages. God is no stranger to graciously providing all that we need through various means. I’m excited to see the work accomplished by the grace of God and the work of the Jesus Christ and the move of the Holy Spirit.

By the way…make a note in your calendar for April 5th. Its a Sunday! Its Easter! Invite someone to join you with us at 10:30am at the Campbell River Community Centre. Who knows! Somebody might decide to get baptized!

——
This was originally posted in our newsletter from March 6, 2015. Sign up for the newsletter by entering your email address in the right hand sidebar.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

