Skip to content

Meet Trevor

December 18, 2014

This post was originally posted on ConvergeChurch.ca and has been archived here.


trevor provost baptism

Meet Trevor Provost. He’s makes a living as a journeyman carpenter, volunteers his time and expertise to our local search and rescue and is a vital part of our Converge Church family. He’s married to Natasha, and together they have a son named Ryder.

There’s more to his story, and we want you to hear about it, so recently I sat down with my friend and just asked him a few questions.

Pastor Mark: So, what exactly do you specialize in with Search & Rescue?

Trevor: I’m a Rope Rescue team leader, Mountain Rescue team leader, and I’m also in charge of all the training with ropes for our SAR group. I’m also on the CDFL team.

(If you don’t know what CDFL is, you should watch this clip. Not a job for the faint of heart, but it looks extremely fun!)

Pastor Mark: So, you got baptized last summer! Tell me the story of how you go to that place of wanting to get baptized.

Trevor: I always sorta thought baptism was like this “look at me, I’m such a good Christian” kinda thing when I was younger, and that repelled me. I didn’t like that idea and didn’t think thats what it was all about. It took me quite a while to come to terms with why I would want to get up in front of a bunch of people because I don’t like being the centre of attention in the first place. But its not about me. That’s the realization that I came to. Its about Jesus, its about being reborn, its a symbol of being reborn and its a thing to celebrate!

Pastor Mark: That’s awesome! So what’s God doing in your life right now?

Trevor: He’s challenging me in many ways in my personal life, particularly with how I serve and how I rest… I had been feeling very overwhelmed with work, with all the volunteer work I was doing as well as with everything I do in my home as a father and a husband. And I said to one of my friends that I remembered a story in the Bible of two sisters: one who was sitting at the feet of Jesus and another who was working in the kitchen. [Mary & Martha in Luke 10:38-42] I hadn’t read that for a long time, but I told my friend that I kinda felt like I was the one in the kitchen working too hard…and not getting to listen to the Word of God as much as I would like to… So I decided that it was time to dig into that story and read all about that. In that story, Jesus basically said to Martha that her heart wasn’t in the right spot. Don’t get me wrong. I love serving. Its part of being a Christian and part of my identity, but I just felt like I needed to study more and remember who I am in Christ. I’m still a work in progress.

Pastor Mark: Yes. As am I.

One of the things we learn as followers of Jesus is that the Christian life is less about being busy doing good things and more about truly knowing our new identity in Christ and resting in that. We get to worship God by doing the good things that he calls us to (Ephesians 2:10), but out of a heart that is motivated by the grace and forgiveness of God, not out of compulsion.

Trevor and Natasha (who also volunteers with SAR and is a certified SAR Dog trainer) were baptized last summer at McIvor Lake near Campbell River, BC. They both serve in hospitality, tow the trailer & set up the gatherings as well as teach in Converge Kids. Their son Ryder is a blessing to our family.

We love you Trevor, Natasha & Ryder!

trevor and natasha provost baptism

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

