Skip to content

Misconceptions about Christianity, the Church and the Bible.

October 7, 2011

Recently, I was invited to write for a blog at TimesColonist.com. I get about 5 days to post every other month, so this time, I decided to do a 5 part series about common misconceptions some people have about Christianity, the Church and the Bible. Below is a link to each of the posts with a short quote from each to pique your interest.

Answering (some) Misconceptions about Christianity, the Church and the Bible.

as a young Pastor of a new Church, when I tell people what I do, it’s a bit of a conversation killer. I assume most people think I only want to talk “religion” and get them to come to my church. It’s almost like they have an allergic reaction to me when I say the word “Pastor”…and to be honest, I find it quite funny.

Common Misconceptions About Sayings Thought to be in the Bible.

Not only is this [misconception] not in the Bible…but it goes against one of the basic premises of the Gospel.

The Church is a Building…Another Misconception.

Some may say that this is just semantics (arguments about words), but I say that language is very important. Do you think language and the way we talk about things is important? Why or why not?

Christianity is a Religion: an Intriguing Misconception.

I wanted to clarify something that many people and many Christians themselves may not realize. That is, Jesus didn’t set up a new religion that is now known as Christianity. As a matter of fact, he came to bring something altogether different — a non-religion.

Answering Your Misconceptions about Christianity, the Church & the Bible.

 In my mind, if a church is boring, either the leaders don’t get it, or you don’t.

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

