Skip to content

First Day of Summer Proverb

June 21, 2011

He who gathers in summer is a prudent son, but he who sleeps in harvest is a son who bring shame.

Photo credit: Douglas McDonald

Today is the first day of Summer. I was reminded of this verse earlier today & felt like I needed to post it somehow.

He who gathers in summer is a prudent son,
but he who sleeps in harvest is a son who brings shame.

Proverbs 10:5

I’ve been very blessed by having a Dad who modeled and continues to model this for me. I have many childhood memories of him sweating away in the blazing heat chopping wood, building a fence or roofing the house, you know, things that need to get done in the summer.

I hope this can be a little reminder that working hard is a gospel-centered way to live no matter what time of year it is. We work hard, not because we have to, but because we get to in worship of God for who he is and what he’s done through the giving of his Son, Jesus Christ.

Because we want to live in ways that bring the message and the ministry of the gospel with intentionality, we live life on-purpose, not in reaction. So we work hard in the times when work is to be done & rest well in the times when rest is needed (& commanded). Gathering in summer…resting in winter (that sort of thing).

I have not always been a prime example of this by any stretch of the imagination, but I pray that I can model this to my children as well as my dad modeled it to me and point to Jesus in the process.

Here’s a shot of my kids helping me put away the firewood last summer:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

