Skip to content

My children love to be near me. Psalm 73

March 16, 2011

I love holding my child’s hand when we go on walks. It’ll be happening more now too since spring is in the air. And one of the great joys of being a daddy is that my children actually want to walk with me, play with me and just want me to be with them all the time. They say things like, “Why do you have to go to work, Daddy? Can’t you stay with me?” And there’s not much in the world that brings me more joy than having my kids run to the door and I find them they’re announcing my arrival at home, “Daddy! Daddy! Daddy!”

I put myself in their shoes when I read this Psalm the other day…here’s the last few verses:

Psalm 73:23-28 (ESV)

23 Nevertheless, I am continually with you;

you hold my right hand.

24 You guide me with your counsel,

and afterward you will receive me to glory.

25 Whom have I in heaven but you?

And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.

26 My flesh and my heart may fail,

but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

27 For behold, those who are far from you shall perish;

you put an end to everyone who is unfaithful to you.

28 But for me it is good to be near God;

I have made the Lord God my refuge,

that I may tell of all your works.

My children love to be near me, under my protection and welcomed into my love.

I believe that as we mature and grow in our identity in Christ, our hearts will reflect this kind of love and joy of being near our Heavenly Daddy. As a disciples of Jesus mature, we will be able to cry out to the Father with increasing clarity and truth “there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.”

O to be like little children! A father’s children love to be near him! Make this Psalm the cry of your heart with me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

