Skip to content

Converge Church – Update #8

February 22, 2011

View the Converge Church Update Archive.

Sign up to be on our email update list.

View the original email.

Performance identity will let you down every time.

God is giving me a taste of my own His own gospel medicine. Get this: I updated my status on Twitter & Facebook on Feb 9th saying, “Pastors like me often feel ‘low’ on Mondays. Its likely because we have identity issues & think its about us.” It didn’t even take me till Monday to feel down after this past Sunday. I’ll save you the trouble, but lets just say the day didn’t go according to plan and nothing went as well as the previous Sunday did. There’s a bit of a flu going around, and I’m pretty sure I had a fever during the sermon & dialogue…not fun.

Three of my brothers had the misfortune of hearing me whine like a baby about it during our evening website planning meeting and graciously kicked me in the pants with these sarcastic, but much needed words: “Its a good thing you don’t find your identity in how well you perform, but in Jesus and how much God loves you.” Those fell like gospel on my heart.

Our Converge Church family has been hearing that our identity comes from who God is and what he’s done through Jesus Christ and not from the things we do. My whining revealed a disconnect from what I said I believed and how I was acting. We all need those friendly reminders from our brothers and sisters in the church. I needed to be told that the work of Jesus Christ frees us from trying to gain acceptance through performing – that Jesus accomplished the work and we can rest in knowing that when God looks at us, he sees his son Jesus.

2 Corinthians 5:21 – “For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.”

The gospel is being applied to my heart and I am being reminded that my acceptance before God is based on Jesus, not on my weak performances. This leads me to rest and worship.

Prayer Points

Praise: + The gospel is being applied to my heart and I am being reminded that my acceptance before God is based on Jesus, not on my performances. + We are very close to being an official Charitable Society!

Prayer: + Pray that the gospel will be applied to the hearts of all in the Converge Church family. + Knowing that Jesus has won the battle, pray for protection of my wife and children from spiritual attack (Ephesians 6:12).

__________

Gather & Scatter

We live life in rhythms of gathering and scattering, and so we’re doing the same at Converge Church. We gather regularly on Sundays at the Campbell River Community Centre as well as in Gospel Communities throughout the week. We “scatter” on the last Sunday of every month giving us extra opportunity to live as gospel-bringers in our families, neighbourhoods & in the City of Campbell River.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

