Skip to content

I’ve got this. – Jesus

November 10, 2010

I am so glad that Jesus is the Senior Pastor, Chief Shepherd, Head of the Church.

As a really fresh church planter, I am realizing more and more how much need there is among people in the church. So much pain, so much struggle and so much need for the gospel to be known, Jesus to be trusted, forgiveness to be received and given. More than anything I long for people to know Jesus and the salvation that he has obtained and secured for us.

On top of that, there is an immense amount of work to be done in planting a church…things like: finding a place to rent or borrow so we can gather, training and recruiting leaders, children’s programs, discipleship groups, organizing chairs to sit on, preparing messages, registering a non-profit charity, fixing the copier and on and on the list goes.

I really don’t know what I would do if it all depended on me.

I could literally be crushed under the sheer weight of the task of planting and making the church (the people) grow in Gospel identity, in worshiping Jesus, in community and in mission. As it is, the growth of the church does not ultimately depend on me. I labor, yes indeed. I fight for the gospel to known, to be sure.

But knowing that Jesus is truly in charge and will handle it and has handled it is such a beautiful thing. He is building his church as he promised. In calling us forward to be a part of what he is doing, Jesus, with a confident undeterred look in his eye because he knows what the score at the end of the game will be, he says to the church planter pastor and all his partners in the gospel, “I’ve got this.”(*)

As Chief Shepherd, Jesus will care for his sheep more than I ever could as an under-shepherd. As Head of the Church, Jesus will lead and guide his body with far greater vision and perspective than I ever could as a servant. Though my responsibility is great and my calling is sure, the church, the people, are HIS people…and for this, I am grateful.

Ephesians 2:10 – For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.

*Jesus didn’t really say, “I’ve got this.” Its my paraphrase of how clear the Word of God is on the fact the Jesus will in fact build HIS church.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

