Skip to content

My Assessment at the Acts 29 Network Bootcamp

October 8, 2010

This post is NOT going to tell you the results of my assessment (as I’m writing this, I’m still waiting to hear back from them). Also, as a funny side note, Keely and I had just gotten on the ferry to go back to Vancouver Island, and my cell phone rang….
“Hello, is this Mark Myles?”
“Yes.”
“Yes, this is Elliot Grudem calling…”
“Oh! Hello Elliot!” (eyebrows lifted as I was wondering if he was calling about our assessment…haha)
“…Yeah…You left a notebook here at the Ballard campus in Seattle. What’s your address so we can send that back to you?”

HILARIOUS. Anyway.

I just wanted to post a record of what kind of GREAT advice our 4 assessors gave Keely and I at the end of our assessment.
The first guy, encouraged us. He did so by saying that he was excited about what we were doing in Campbell River. Regardless of the outcome of our assessment, he was excited to see us continue in our efforts and in the calling God has placed on our lives.

The second guy, stirred us up to pray. He wanted us to make sure that we were praying for Jesus to make others passionate about him. Because in the end, Jesus builds his Church.

The third guy, instructed me. He reiterated to me that I need to discern the idols of the people in Campbell River so that I would be able to apply the Gospel effectively and show the Gospel’s relevancy to this culture. He also told me that I needed to smile more when I’m talking about Jesus. I’m a pretty serious guy, but Jesus gives me joy because he is my salvation, and the dude was right anyway, I need to smile more when talking about him!

The fourth guy, prepared me. Because so many of the Converge Church people have been so “gung-ho,” he was showing me that I need to be ready for the, “so what do we do?” question. So in light of this I’m tweaking my discipleship plan and figuring out something that is not a re-invention of the wheel, and will work in Campbell River too.


Keely and I were so blessed during bootcamp in so many ways. We both appreciated the preliminary responses from our assessors and look forward to continuing the work God has called us to in Campbell River.

 

For more information on the Acts 29 Network, visit their website: www.acts29network.org

Interested in becoming a part of Converge Church in Campbell River? www.convergechurch.ca

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    October 8, 2010 7:17 am

    Hey man,

    So happy to hear that your assessment went great and those men were there not to only determine whether you should plant…rather to turn your focus and aspirations towards Jesus.

    So cool.

    Will you keep us posted on the results? Regardless, you are doing what God has called you to do in CR and I am sure whatever they say will involve continuing in the work of the Gospel where you are, doing exactly what you are doing.

    Praise God.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention My Assessment at the Acts 29 Network Bootcamp « Cup of Joe with Marko -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

