Skip to content

Planting a Church in Campbell River

July 12, 2010

In stewarding the gifts of grace given to Keely and I over the past number of years (especially this last one), we feel strongly called to plant a church in the city in which we live, Campbell River.

As you may know, since August 2009, I’ve been attending Re:Train in Seattle in hopes of learning from some of the experts about leading missional churches and church planting. My academic expectations were far exceeded by the quality and calibre of teaching. I have learned even more, about being a worshipper and disciple of Jesus, about being a more godly husband and father and about loving the city that God has placed me in.

Through this time of transformation, God has grown in me a burning desire to see the gospel of Jesus Christ planted in peoples lives through new churches. I believe that God has called me to lead the church and that he has been guiding me and gifting me for this purpose. The evidences of God’s grace on our lives over the past year reveal to us his love and the desire that he has for us to move forward with the resources he has given us to steward them well and put them to use for the growth of his kingdom. My coaches along with some other godly counsellors have been holding me accountable, and encouraged and affirmed in me a calling to lead the church. Keely and I both know that our next step is to trust that Jesus is using us to plant the gospel in people’s hearts here in Campbell River a place we know and love.

We’re starting to gather a core group and, Lord willing, we’ll have our first informational meeting the first week of August.

God is good and we are excited for what he has in store…there is much to be done.

Stay tuned to hear more by subscribing to this blog (RSS or Email), following me on Twitter or friending me on Facebook.

He must increase, I must decrease.

Leave a Reply

