Skip to content

Re:Train Books #5

May 17, 2010

Click here to view the Re:Train Books Series.

confessions Confessions of a Reformission Rev.: Hard Lessons from an Emerging Missional Church, Mark Driscoll

Don’t try this at home. Pastor Mark Driscoll retells much of the story of Mars Hill Church from the early days until the time of writing the book (2006). Whether you are a pastor of a 100 year old church or a young intern, if you are in touch with the mission that Jesus is on for his church, then reading one man’s account of how a church was planted, such as this book, will be not only helpful, but motivating. The impetus is not to copy what Pastor Mark has done, but to learn from the good stuff, beware of the bad stuff and more than anything pray hard through it all. From humorous interpretations of culture to true-to-life realism, “Confessions” is a book that tells it like it is helping the church leader to get on mission and stay on mission.

______________________________________________________

humility Humility: True Greatness, C. J. Mahaney

This book by CJ Mahaney is so good. I know I say this a lot, but this one really is a MUST READ for every pastor. If you’ve never listened to Mahaney speak, I would suggest you find a video message of him somewhere and just get a grasp for how he speaks and preaches and pleads with people first. Then as you read “Humility,” you’ll really get a sense of why he was asked to write this book. Its so good.

______________________________________________________

leading on empty Leading on Empty, Wayne Cordeiro

Not a bad read. This is another one of those, learn-from-my-mistakes books. Cordeiro entreats pastors to take a step back and remember what its all about. Don’t go solo, work as a team. Remember what got you to where you are in the first place. Its about perspective, balance and focussing on Jesus. If you’re in leadership and are finding yourself tired, read it.

______________________________________________________

luther Luther: man between God and the Devil, Heiko Augustinus Oberman, Eileen Walliser-Schwarzbart

Bottom line? I should read more biographies. I enjoyed it. One thing I like to do in a biography (and I’m sure I’m not the only one) is imagine that I am the person the biography is about. For Luther, it was hard at the points when he was being very rash and “eccentric,” but easier when he was preaching and standing for truth. Martin Luther is often attributed with starting the reformation with his 95 Theses being nailed to the Wittenburg door, but my favorite quote is when he had been asked to recant all (or most) of his writings and after a day when he has had time to thing about it, he declares, “Unless I am convinced by the testimony of the Holy Scriptures or by evident reason–for I can believe neither pope nor councils alone, as it is clear that they have erred repeatedly and contradicted themselves–I consider myself convicted by the testimony of Holy Scripture, which is my basis; my conscience is captive to the Word of God. Thus I cannot and will not recant, because acting against one’s conscience is neither safe nor sound. God help me. Amen.” (p.39) His confidence was not in himself, but in the written word of God. Such a good reminder.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

