Skip to content

One Year with Twitter

March 30, 2010

Today marks exactly ONE YEAR since I signed up for Twitter. I’ve also just passed 1700 tweets. If you still have no idea what it is, its hard to explain other than by calling it “very networked micro-blogging”. Wikipedia can explain it for you.

So! What do I think? Is it a waste of time or is it worth it? Let me just tell you my experience with Twitter & I’ll let you be the judge.

Tweet #1: Checking out Twitter.
And that’s how I began. I was definitely a skeptic to start with…only knew one other person on twitter and thought it was the same as Facebook, but quickly found out that its not.

Tweet #13: Thinking about what to blog about…bible study…devotional-esque musings…hmmm. Here’s my blog http://tinyurl.com/markmyles
This was the first link I posted and so it began that I would use twitter to give the world more of me. How lame is that? Whatever….just being honest. I realized that I didn’t have much to talk about and I had friends and knew of churches that were doing a better job at spreading good stuff around, so I began to tweet some of their stuff.

Tweet #28: Friend of mine is director of the Abba Fund in the US…I lovethis….living James 1:27…check it out: http://www.abbafund.org

Tweet #29: RT @MarsHill is streaming Good Friday services online tomorrowat 6, 8 and 10 PM PST http://www.marshillchurch.org/live Spread the word
By the way, you can visit that same link THIS FRIDAY @ 8pm and watch this years Mars Hill Church Good Friday Service live online.

Tweet #54: 3 goals, 2 assists & a broken toe. Couldn’t think of a better way to end the indoor soccer season.
This is so sad. This is just proof that I used to be in better shape than I am now. I haven’t played soccer for an entire year now…so sad. I miss soccer.

Tweet #62: Rare lunch out with the fam. Monsters vs. Aliens after! http://twitpic.com/3jhtq
I discovered the very cool twitpic function and will often post things I do with my family.

Tweet #68: @unbound Looking forward to meeting you also! Thx.
This was the beginning of using Twitter to meet new people. I had no idea how many people I would meet through Twitter. Its been crazy. Not just people that I would never meet in person, but people that I would become friends with in real life. I’ve met people in Campbell River that I might never have met any other way. I’ve met people in Victoria and connected with old friends who live on the other side of the continent. One of the more interesting things is that I found out about Re:Train through Twitter as well as met some of my fellow students before actually meeting them in person. I also met a guy who works for Logos Bible Software, is friends with Mark Driscoll and invited me to stay at his place and hooked me up with the amazing Logos 4, a Death by Love audiobook, and a copy of a biography on John Calvin. Remember, this is all through Twitter.

Its been a great networking opportunity to use Twitter not merely for ONLINE social networking, but as a means for REAL LIFE social networking.

Tweet #106: I love my wife.
Yes. I love my wife. And Twitter really is a great way to express your love for someone. Which got me thinking. This Twitter thing is like a mini-blog & it really is visible by anyone in the entire world who has an internet connection, so why am I not spreading more of Jesus’ love through it? This piqued a desire in me to not only use Twitter and my blog and my Facebook account for my own pursuits, but for the Gospel. So, to be honest, I’ve tried to steward my social networking well and use it as an opportunity to meet new people, deepen my existing relationships and use it for opportunities to spread the gospel. So you’ll often see quotes from prof’s of classes I’m taking and books I’m reading as well as references to the Good Book, the Bible.

Tweet #133 – RT @CrosswayBooks: Crossway aiming for 1,000 followers in the 1stweek. Offering chance 2 win a $100 gift certificate. http://bit.ly/19nYx1
This is just an example of the many draws I’ve entered through Twitter. You’d be surprised how many things I won! I’ve actually won 5 books, a CD, and an audiobook through 4 separate draws. That’s cool. Without Twitter, I wouldn’t have had those books! They’re good books too.

Tweet #1703 – Keely’s Hair 4 #Haiti going on in #CampbellRiver #vanisle. Specify whether U want 2 see her bald or not! http://bit.ly/9EQwR0
So we come to my most recent tweet. My wife is raising money for Haiti. She has a heart of Gold, and twitter is a great way to promote fundraisers.

I hope my next year of Twitter will be more beneficial to those around me, that I steward my friendships, networks and influence well, and that most of all, the Gospel would be clearly proclaimed.

So, are you a Twitter user? Hate the idea? Let me know what you think in the comments.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrew permalink
    March 30, 2010 9:10 am

    Love the retrospect! Great break down of the usefulness of Twitter 🙂

  2. April 6, 2010 12:35 pm

    Thanks Mark for posting a retrospective of your 1st year Twitterversary.

    I’m happy to say that we met via Twitter, and hope our friendship will grow this coming year as we work on our various projects.

    Amazed that you can actually track your tweets – I have too many to be able to find them using the API.

    You’ve given us some very good examples of how to use Twitter!

    Cheers,

    Janis

Leave a Reply

