Skip to content

New Years Resolutions | Jonathan Edwards

December 22, 2009

Its the end of another year. The holidays provide us with the perfect opportunity to reflect on our lives, think of the coming year and wonder what would make it better.

Not sure if Jonathan Edwards was a “New Years” resolution type of guy, but he was RESOLVED nonetheless.

Desiring God has posted The Resolutions of Jonathan Edwards. I recommend reading through them to be challenged to deeper devotion to God. As you read, may you be stirred up toward love and good deeds as Hebrews 10:24 encourages us.

Here’s a few of my fav’s:

#6. Resolved, To live with all my might, while I do live.

#7. Resolved, Never to do any thing, which I should be afraid to do if it were the last hour of my life.

#17. Resolved, That I will live so, as I shall wish I had done when I come to die.

#21. Resolved, Never to do any thing, which if I should see in another, I should count a just occasion to despise him for, or to think any way the more meanly of him.

#52. I frequently hear persons in old age say how they would live, if they were to live their lives over again: Resolved, That I will live just so as I can think I shall wish I had done, supposing I live to old age. July 8, 1723.

#56. Resolved, Never to give over, nor in the least to slacken, my fight with my corruptions, however unsuccessful I may be.

So, go ahead, make your own resolutions for this coming year, but don’t give up…keep track of them, do them to the glory of God, not your own glory.

Blessings.

He must increase, I must decrease.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

