Skip to content

Re:Train Reflections #2

September 21, 2009

Click here to view the Re:Train Reflections Series.

I was up at 5:30am Thursday morning. Its was foggy in Campbell River & I was looking forward to traveling to Bellingham, then to Seattle the next morning for my second class @ The Resurgence Training Center (Re:Train).

A good summary Bible verse for the travel portion of my trip would be a verse that I’ve been trying to memorize lately:

James 4:13-16 (ESV) – Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”–yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.” As it is, you boast in your arrogance. All such boasting is evil.”

Before I even made it to the ferry on Thursday, my motorcycle just shut down & died. I knew my gas tank had some rust in it…but I didn’t think it would cause me that much trouble. Doh! So…to make a very long story short, I brought it to a bike shop in Langley that managed to get me to where I was going and…well…almost all the way home. My bike did the same thing about 10km from home. This was a common scene for me this trip (thankful for the sunny weather).

I parked my bike in Bellingham @ my Cohort Leader’s house & we went from there to class Friday morning in Seattle. Rob Berreth has already been a great friend, pastor and mentor to me. He’s planted a church in Bellingham called Redeemer.

In Seattle, we were taught by Dr. Bruce Ware on “Missional Christology“. His heart for truth and biblical insights on the Trinity were amazing. Often what people first think about a prof, like Ware (who has 7 degrees), is that they are all book knowledge, no heart and of no real use to everyday people…this couldn’t be farther from the truth. Dr.Ware brought a pastoral and prophetic tone to the deep deep (sometimes hard to understand) truths of the Trinity. The emphasis was on Jesus Christ and his relationships and roles within the Triune Godhead and what it means for the sending of his Church.

Something about this that may surprise you is during & after many of his long and tedious doctrinal explanations, is that often, these discourses were accompanied with shouts of praise and worship to God from many of the students! I mean, I kinda surprised myself too! Faced with many depths in the truth of God as revealed through his Word & the salvation given to me through Jesus Christ, I found my heart affected toward worshiping God and praising him. I found my own voice echoing my brothers’ calls of praise…it was Spirit & Truth worship.

I could go on about what I learned, but I better save most of that for my papers.

I wanted to explain a bit about my “cohort”.

I’m in a group called the “Acts 29” cohort. I’m with a bunch of guys who have planted churches with Acts 29 or are looking forward to planting. I’m one of the guys who’s looking forward. You can find out a bit more about the Acts 29 Network here. I’m having great conversations with other pastors who are in the same place or have been where I am and I find myself being encouraged and motivated by these men.

It truly is a God-given privilege to be in Re:Train and be mentored by some great guys…be taught by some of the best theologians, scholars, pastors and teachers of our time…an honor.

Well, I had a bit of a bumpy ride home too…missed my ferry. But, God’s plans are better than mine. Turns out, I missed my ferry for a reason. There was a couple also staying the motel I was getting for the night that were going to a pub and thought I might like to join them. I took them up on the offer and it turns out that a friend of theirs was interested to find out that I was a Pastor. He had questions and I was able to share Jesus with him. Very cool. God’s plans never fail. Great to be a part of God’s plan.

Hey, if I hadn’t have been delayed, I wouldn’t have seen this beautiful Sunday Sunrise.

If you’re wondering what “Re:Train” is and why I’m going, please be sure to read my post “The Door Opened“.

I also am raising support, which you can find out more about in “The Door Opened” or directly through the “Support” page.

Hope you are encouraged.

Blessings.

Leave a Reply

