Skip to content

Re:Train Reflections #1

August 27, 2009

Click here to view the Re:Train Reflections Series.

The Resurgence Training Center is not your typical seminary.
Re:Train Week 1

My first week at Re:Train was amazing. I expected it to be different and cool, but this was exceedingly better than I had imagined.

This picture you see (above) is my “classroom” filled with comfortable leather chairs, coffee tables, shag rugs & multiple power outlets for everyone’s laptops. I don’t think there was a single person there without a laptop (and most of them were Macs). I noticed a couple outfitted with Logos Bible Software too, which I am hoping to load on my own laptop someday. I’ve applied for a seminary scholarship that, if I win it will help out with my tuition costs to the tune of $1000, plus load me up with a copy of Logos Bible Software’s Scholar’s Library. That would be a huge help financially & a blessing to be able to have $6100 worth of tools, books & Bibles at my fingertips!

Anyway, one of the great things that encouraged me about Re:Train (week 1) is the fact that they continually emphasize “transformation, not just information”. The idea is that what we learn and read and write will be entirely useful to our existing and future ministries, as well as having it be applied to our hearts and lives so that we know it (heart knowledge), not merely understand it (head knowledge).

The trip down island, across the ferry & to the border on my motorcycle was great. The weather was awesome. The tough part about it was the wait at the border, which is why I am so happy that I was approved for a Nexus card.

One thing that aids the “transformation” of the heart in learning is to do so in community and to experience and to have opportunity to put into practice with others some of what we are learning. So, we’ve been placed in “cohorts,” which are basically small groups of guys (as opposed to groups of small guys ;)) who are in similar situations to each other.

And we were able to get away (like Jesus and his disciples), have a meal together and build into each other’s lives…as iron sharpens iron. Mmmm….spaghetti & discipleship.

I heard that Seattle has the third-worst traffic in the USA, whether that’s true or not, I don’t know, but I did get lost a few times, which is why I was extremely happy for the google maps and GPS on my iPhone. Here’s a screenshot (the blue dot is me ;)).

One major takeaway that hit me while in Seattle this first week had to do with grace and discipleship. We, as followers/disciples of Jesus have been given a HUGE portion of grace on our own lives from God the Father through Jesus Christ’s life, death and resurrection. We MUST get that into our heads and our hearts because God’s grace (the forgiveness of sins, removal of shame & guilt) was not given to us for no reason or for our benefit alone. We have been given grace so that God might be glorified. We have been called to Jesus for God’s glory. And we, as recipients of this immeasurable weight of undeserved favor, in turn MUST give grace to EVERY soul we see.

The reason it hit me? I tend not to be a very “gracious” person and God definately wants me to give grace freely to others as He has freely given it to me. I am being transformed by the Gospel as I go to seminary.

Like I said, this is no ordinary seminary…and I love it.

Blessings.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2009 8:10 am

    Those leather chairs are a far cry from the typical desk. Perhaps that’s an example of the seminary being gracious 😉

    Good thoughts!

  2. January 16, 2011 9:58 pm

    This is great. I’ve got a year to go on my Bachelor’s degree, but I’m praying about Re:train. Thanks so much for sharing your experience.

    • January 17, 2011 3:19 pm

      That’s great, Ross! Let me know if I can help you in any way.

      • January 19, 2011 11:32 am

        Thanks Mark. I’ve read through all of your posts and they have given a good feel for the quantity of reading & caliber of teaching to expect. I’d love to hear what you would have done differently, or what you would do in my case (1.5 years out) to prepare. Last question, if it were an option- would you have moved to Seattle for the year, or did you find it more helpful to just travel for class, but stay near your home base. Thanks,

        ross

        p.s. I attended boot camp in Seattle & bumped into Rob Berreth there. My wife & I are planning on checking out Redeemer this weekend with a friend who is not yet saved.

    • January 20, 2011 4:59 pm

      Sent you an email, Ross.

Trackbacks

  1. Re:Train Reflections Collection « Cup of Joe with Marko

Leave a Reply

