Skip to content

Re:Train Books #1

August 27, 2009

Click here to view the Re:Train Books Series.

Interested in some good books to read? Here is the list of books I’ve had to read for my first session at the Resurgence Training Center (aka Re:Train). The title of our first week was “Spiritual Formation and Disciplemaking” and it was awesome. Stay tuned for “Re:Train Reflections #1”.

(Note: Links are to the Canadian Amazon website. You can support the Resurgence by purchasing books from Amazon through this link.)

Books:

Death by Love: Letters from the Cross, Mark Driscoll.

  • I absolutely loved this book. Very cross-centered, yet very personally applicable. I will read it again because reading it as quickly as I did didn’t justify the weight of the content. It was actually hard to read quickly because so much of it was so deeply heart-wrenching and real-to-life. It struck me in many ways and I enjoyed it thoroughly. A must-read. You can borrow it from me if you like.

How People Change, Timothy Lane & Paul Tripp.

  • Another great book, but hard to get through for a different reason. I found it slow reading because the book actually felt a little “wordy” and could have been said in less words. A very good book though on the process of transformation in a disciple of Jesus as they mature.

God’s Big Picture: Tracing the Story-Line of the Bible, Vaughn Roberts

  • This is a great book for anyone who wants to get a holistic & biblical overview of God’s history. It gave me a good sense of God’s redemptive purpose throughout history culminating in the life, death & resurrection of Jesus Christ as well as showing where we find ourselves in the story.

Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins we Tolerate, Jerry Bridges

  • Ever feel like your sin is not as bad as some of the more obvious sins? Been a Christian a long time and think you have it all together? This is a great book that refreshes our heart around the Gospel pointing out that all sin is evil, no matter how “acceptable” it has become for us. Jerry Bridges hits hard on the fact that we often point the finger of accusation on other peoples’ more obvious sins yet ignore our own sins and in fact end up considering that our sins are quite “respectable”. I loved it. It hit me hard. You should read it.

Have you read any of these books? Let me know what you think & leave a comment!

Blessings.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 7:53 pm

    Joe,

    Thank you for posting your experiences with RE:Train. Could you also post the book lists for the other classes. Another elder and I are going to follow along, especially now that Mark Driscoll has announced that they are recording the teaching sessions and will be postig them. What a blessing.

    David.

    • September 24, 2009 8:04 pm

      David,
      Hey…glad I can help! I will be posting my mini-review’s of the books once I’ve read them. Glad to be a blessing.

      By the way…the names Mark. 😉

      Blessings

  2. September 25, 2009 4:22 am

    Sorry Mark. I typed in a hurry and coffee on my mind 🙂

    David

Trackbacks

  1. Re:Train Books Collection « Cup of Joe with Marko

Leave a Reply

