Skip to content

The Door Opened.

August 10, 2009

I don’t know what it was about this particular door that at first caused it to catch my eye. Maybe it was the steady traffic & recent attention that it has received. Or maybe it was because of the various shapes and sizes of men going in and out of it. But as I watched I noticed the different ways that each man went in. Some walked right up to the door, opened it without any trouble at all as if this was the door to the house they’ve lived in all their lives. Another would come up to the door, knock, listen for a minute, then walk away. There were a few who barged through the hall and forced their way through the door only to be thrown back out moments later totally beat up and mangled. There was indeed a mess of fingerprints on the door handle and a lot of conversation filling the hall about that particular door. Then, as I was observing and listening to all that was going on, through the noise of the crowd, I heard a call come to me from what sounded like the other side of the door. I moved in a little closer and listened more intently this time because what I thought I heard, was my name. Then, when I was not really ready for it, the call came again. It was unmistakeably clear this time. The sound of it wasn’t the bellowing of a drill sergeant, nor the sweetness of a dinner bell, but something in between that caused me to draw in and follow with anticipation and hope.

The “door” you may (or may not) have guessed, leads to Church Planting. I’ve tested the door handle, it opened, and now its up to me to walk through. Before I ask for your help (through prayer or financial support), let me first tell you the story of how we got here in the first place and how I perceive my immediate future unfolding as we walk through this door following the call of God.

I recently resigned from my position as Children’s Director at CR Baptist Church and have stepped out into the unknown. We are walking by faith in our great God as he leads us and our  family into Church Planting.

It has been a privilege to serve in my home church. Leading the Children’s Ministry has been such a joy and pleasure. The time that I’ve served CR Baptist Church has been instrumental in leading us into what we’re going into now. My life has been marked by a growing and deepening desire to know Jesus, serve him and build his Church to see many lost souls believe the Good News. In no way is my resignation a reflection of my relationship with the Pastors and staff of CR Baptist Church. I love these people and hope to continue to serve them as I am able in the future.

Not knowing if we would get the opportunity again, Keely and I felt compelled to turn down our first invitation to participate in the Canadian Church Planters Assessment Centre because the timing was not quite right for our family nor our church family. We were however, invited again to participate, and in April 2009, Keely and I were approved with “strong conditions” for Church Planting.

As a result of our assessment, it was recommended that I look for an Internship in a Church Plant in order to develop further my understanding and background experience in Church Planting. This would provide me with real-life ministry opportunities to serve adults in a Church Plant and be mentored closely by a Pastor who is “in the thick of it”.

Recently, the opportunity arose for me to apply to the “Resurgence Training Center” (Re:Train) in Seattle. It is a one-year MA in Missional Leadership specifically geared at training pastors for the Church Planting movement. Given the fact that they were only accepting 50 students, and not knowing if they were even accepting Canadians, my enrollment (from my perspective) was unlikely. I applied anyway (tested the door handle), and to my surprise and joy was accepted!

Completing Re:Train, along with an Internship will provide me with some highly beneficial (maybe essential) training, coaching and opportunities that will prepare me better as we look forward to planting a Church (Lord willing) in the future.

So now we must walk through this open door. It will take faith and trust in God’s provision and much support from friends, family and you. Even now, I am studying and working towards my course requirements for this intense, high quality training.

I’ve been blessed with a place to stay (at no cost) with members of Mars Hill Church while attending the 9 sessions in Seattle. There will be lots of book and travel costs & the tuition is in US dollars, so it’s going to be like $1,000,000 Canadian dollars (*laughs).

Myles Family

All kidding aside, I believe that you care about Keely, myself and our children (Levi, Dexter & Talitha), so I ask you to please sign up to pray for us and even consider supporting us financially as we follow God’s call on our lives and step through this door toward Church Planting.

Thank-you so much for being a part of our lives.

Blessings

Mark Myles

He must increase, I must decrease. John 3:30

He must increase, I must decrease. John 3:30

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mattias permalink
    August 17, 2009 9:29 am

    Sounds exciting, Mark! We look forward to hearing more.

  2. August 24, 2009 9:54 pm

    Hey Mark,

    Sounds exciting, thanks for the update. Let me know how things are going. Give me a call sometime this week.

    Later,

    Your Friendly Neighborhood Pastorman!

Trackbacks

  1. Re:Train Reflections #2 « Cup of Joe with Marko
  2. Re:Train Reflections #4 « Cup of Joe with Marko

Leave a Reply

