Skip to content

July 31st Already? | C.J. Mahaney & Biblical Productivity

July 31, 2009

I really can’t believe that its July 31st already. I mean, for me, this year has been amazingly more full of “stuff” than any other year I’ve ever had. I don’t even remember April…let alone May & June!

Now, being busy does not necessarily mean that I am productive…being busy doesn’t mean that I am biblical either! Being Biblical while being Productive…now that’s something I’d like to put together like PB&J.

I actually pride myself on being able to say “no” to things that are not important to me. If something comes up and needs to be done I say no very easily. Just picture Jim Carey in “Yes Man” before he went to that seminar…that’s me.

But…I was recently humbled, encouraged and motivated by C.J. Mahaney of Sovereign Grace Ministries who wrote a blog series titled “Biblical Productivity”. In it he points out that he didn’t think he was lazy until he read that there is a “difference between busyness and fruitfulness, and realized just how often [his] my busyness was an expression of laziness, not diligence.”

I encourage you to read it online or view/download the PDF which Sovereign Grace Ministries has made available for download and distribution (provided you don’t charge for it).

Here’s a little excerpt to whet your appetite:

When considering our schedules, we have endless options. But there are a few clear priorities and projects, derived from my God-assigned roles, that should occupy the majority of my time during a given week. And there are a thousand tasks of secondary importance that tempt us to devote a disproportionate amount of time to completing an endless to-do list. And if we are lazy, we will neglect the important for the urgent.

Blessings

Please subscribe to my blog by e-mail or rss by clicking on the appropriate link in the far right column.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

