Skip to content

Christian Flame Sucks

April 8, 2009

I’ve heard a lot of flame lately where I’ll hear one Christian talking down about another Christian. There are so many Christians out there who take it upon themselves to point out the faults/mistakes or “sins” of other Christians.  Why are we doing this? We are no better than James and John when they were attempting to vie for position in heaven (only for us, its more like “correctness heaven”).

I hope to go to the Bible in a moment, but here’s what I’m getting at: I am so tired of Christians who spend so much of their time and energy reading or listening to sermons and blogs and whatever else they do, but end up slamming other believers methodology or style.

I’ve got a verse or two.

Romans 12:14, 17-21

“Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse them…Repay no one evil for evil, but give thought to do what is honorable in the sight of all. If possible, so far as it depends on you live peaceably with all. Beloved, never avenge yourselves, but leave it to the wrath of God, for it is written, “Vengeance is mine, I will repay, says the Lord.” To the contrary, “if your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink; for by so doing you will heap burning coals on his head.” Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.”

Paul is so obviously clear on sacrificing your own personal opinions for the sake of the gospel…“do what is honorable in the sight of all.” Those are some pretty strong words…let alone the vengeance is mine part.

So much of what is said on the internet that goes back and forth is at its root, Christians hacking other Christians for the sake of what?

Can I be so bold as to ask that when we preach, post, or point our boney fingers that we would first at least call to memory a verse or two about unity among brothers? Remember the passage in Proverbs 6 where we are notified of 6 things that God hates, and the 7th thing is an abomination to him?

Proverbs 6:16-19

There are six things that the Lord hates,
seven that are an abomination to him:
haughty eyes, a lying tongue,
and hands that shed innocent blood,
a heart that devises wicked plans,
feet that make haste to run to evil,
a false witness who breathes out lies,
and one who sows discord among brothers.

…one who sows discord among brothers.”

Do you find yourself fault finding? Danger. Be honest and ask yourself , “Am I sowing discord, causing negative talk,  or exhibiting a harsh attitude that causes other believers to feel the same?” God calls that an abomination.

Isaiah 5:20-21

Woe to those who call evil good
and good evil,
who put darkness for light
and light for darkness,
who put bitter for sweet
and sweet for bitter!
Woe to those who are wise in their own eyes,
and shrewd in their own sight!

Woah! Did you catch all that? I would say that when we are calling something sinful, we better make sure of it. If we are calling other believers and their ministries to task because we think that what they are doing is wrong, then we need to be extremely careful. If we are labeling something “evil” that is actually “good” in God’s eyes, then we are in serious trouble. Woe to us if we do this!

I love the Word of God because it clears the dust from all the crap that has been flying between preachers, laymen and various bloggers out there who have been wasting their time on refuting each ones arguments and covering their own butts from shame or mis-understandings and basically seeking vengeance on the person who wrongly accused them.

In our church (Campbell River Baptist Church…I currently serve as Director of Children’s Ministries there), we recently brought in an evangelist/illusionist named Brock Gill for an evangelistic event that saw many souls won to Christ. You may have heard of him. Either way, this guy is reaching lost souls for Christ through slight of hand and the cool entertaining show he puts on. Crazy? Maybe. Always always always go to the fruit of someone’s ministry. The way I see it is through these two lenses…

1 Corinthians 9:19-23

“For though I am free from all, I have made myself a servant to all, that I might win more of them. To the Jews I became as a Jew, in order to win Jews. To those under the law I became as one under the law (though not being myself under the law) that I might win those under the law. To those outside the law I became as one outside the law (not being outside the law of God but under the law of Christ) that I might win those outside the law. To the weak I became weak, that I might win the weak. I have become all things to all people, that by all means I might save some. I do it all for the sake of the gospel, that I may share with them in its blessings.”

and

Mark 9:38-40

“John said to him, “Teacher, we saw someone casting out demons in your name, and we tried to stop him, because he was not following us.” But Jesus said, “Do not stop him, for no one who does a mighty work in my name will be able soon afterward to speak evil of me. For the one who is not against us is for us.”

I don’t pay much attention to the flame tossed back and forth on the Internet, but lately, I’ve noticed a bit here, here, and here because some of these guys I really respect. Either way, a man is a man is a man, and I would never place any teacher above the words of Jesus.

I must say that I’m getting very tired of our educated and very influential pastors and laymen out there blogging only for the sake of slamming some other pastor! And for what! It truly disgusts me and I would say that it does nothing for the gospel of Jesus.

I have non-believing friends (and you do too) who look at this kind of stuff (the arguing and bickering between Christians) and use it at ammo for why they don’t believe!

So, brothers, humility is needed and it is time to repent and recognize that Jesus was praying for us in John 17:20-21 when he prayed,

“I do not ask for these only, but also for those who will believe in me through their word, that they may all be one, just as you, Father, are in me, and I in you, that they also may be in us, so that the world may believe that you have sent me.”

That they may be one…so that the world may believe that you have sent me. Thinnk about that…so that the world may believe. When you don’t like something about what a pastor said or how they did something, think before you blog about it. Think about how what you will say may impact someone who has not yet trusted Jesus with their life.

Get over yourselves guys and be a fool for Christ. Quit trying to elbow your way up Jacob’s ladder and work at giving Jesus to the world. The world needs Jesus and they’re not getting him if you’re spending your time on slamming other believers.


He must increase, I must decrease. John 3:30

He must increase, I must decrease. John 3:30

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 19, 2009 5:37 am

    but what if their methodology or style is spiritually and morally flawed? are we to keep silent so as to keep peace and unity? doesn’t this ultimately hurt the cause of Christ?

    i agree that some people can get carried away with thier criticisms. it’s easy, very easy, to criticize via a personal blog or a faceless comment thread. yet questioning the actions of an internationally known pastor who is known to make controversial remarks and scripture interpretations is not being uncharitable. it is tough love. sure you’ll always have a handful who want nothing more than to mudsling for mudslinging’s sake. but lovers of the Truth will always kick up a storm when Scripture is mishandled and made a mockery.

    it is our DUTY to stand for the Truth, defend the Bible, and call out people who are supposed to represent Jesus but make jokes at His expense.

    peace bro,

    dan

    Thanks Dan.
    I appreciate your passion for the Word of God. I’m there with you. The issue I have is all the bashing that goes on in the “blogosphere”. Its really unnecessary. If one of our pastors or guys out there is preaching in a way that is un-biblical, then we should go to that person. If someone is in sin, we ought to go to them. I guess I really just want us to search our hearts and not negatively blog about someone who is spreading the Gospel (no matter how they do it).
    Blessings.

Leave a Reply

