Skip to content

One of the reasons I love Vancouver Island

December 5, 2010

One of the reasons I love Vancouver Island.
Ferry reflections:



Keely and I were able to secure tickets to a Canucks game & leave our children with my Mom. We are super thankful to be able to get away together

On our way down to the ferry, I wondered out loud, “How many times have I been on the ferry?” Definitely too many times to count. I do count it a privilege though, because not everyone in the world gets to enjoy scenes like this for an hour or more and relax reading a book on a boat with pretty decent food.

Keely and I have spent a lot of time together on the ferries or time traveling to see each other.

She has a better memory than me, but I do remember a time when she was on her way back to Victoria (after visiting me in Langley) where she fell asleep on the ferry and almost ended up sleeping right through a whole second ferry ride.

There was another time when I wanted to prove my love for her and I rode my bike from Ft. Langley down to Tsawassen to take the ferry to Victoria to go see Keely. It took me almost 4 hrs with a head wind nearly the whole way. The ferry was the easiest part.

Living on an Island, even one as large as Vancouver Island, our lives still seem to revolve a bit around the ferries.

When we lived up north, Keely took the kids on the ferry from Pt. Hardy to Price Rupert. It turned into a not so fun adventure for her though when Both Levi & Dexter were sick…and they still had to endure a 4.5hr car ride back to Houston.

Traveling for school, for work with my Dad, for church conferences, etc sums up the majority of my ferry days. Very few are leisure oriented like this one.

It is nice. So far, I’ve read a bit…took some pictures…now I’m listening to some Derrek Webb, watching my wife write some poetry and sipping on a Chai.

We walked on, so the bus should be an adventure and definitely looking forward to the game tonight and a stay in a hotel with my bride. Home tomorrow.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. robyn bates permalink
    December 8, 2010 11:08 am

    you two are such an awesome pair!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention One of the reasons I love Vancouver Island « Cup of Joe with Marko -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 797 other followers

